Stripped to the Essentials: The Tallest Man on Earth

Swedish Kristian Matsson creates music that’s bare-boned and heartfelt. With nothing but an acoustic guitar and a raspy, immediately identifiable voice (and a piano in the last track), The Tallest Man on Earth‘s latest album, The Wild Hunt, is one of the most sincere pieces of music I’ve heard in a while.

Since the album was released on Tuesday, I’ve listened to it six times (that’s a LOT for me), and I only grow fonder of the depth and vividly descriptive nature of the lyrics with each listen.

Not one song is weaker than any other, and there’s something so deeply sincere about each track that each story told feels personal to the audience.

This one is definitely a 2010 favorite.

As usual, you can stream the full album in The Connection on the right side of this page. Otherwise you’ll need to head here for a taste.

Enjoy.

17 responses to “Stripped to the Essentials: The Tallest Man on Earth

  1. barkendeavourii

    Those Swedish kids sure know how to make good tunes.

  2. great recommendation – off to listen to a few of the tracks!

    http://www.tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

  3. I don’t like it as much as you do, good try tho. This piece isn’t for everyone.

    • nope, it’s definitely not.
      my aim is to find music away from the beaten path, and then to introduce it to people for them to form their own opinions.
      hope you can find some other music to enjoy on the blog though.
      either way, thanks for reading!

  4. Good stuff. I was listening to The Tallest Man on Earth the other day, but not The Wild Hunt. My friend loves him. He’s good, but he’s not really my type of artist.

    I see you like a lot of Indie Music.

    • indeed, though i hate the term indie (can’t really figure out what it means anymore, since it’s obviously not referring to whether an artist is signed or not).
      i hope you can find some other tracks to enjoy on my blog though. i dont often post such straight ahead folk.
      thanks for reading!

  5. I’ve heard a lot of people mention The Tallest Man on Earth and had a quick browse through the samples.
    I must say that the singer does really have a voice that stands out.. Will definitely get the album and have a good listen.

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Stripped to the Essentials: The Tallest Man on Earth « The Up & Up of Music -- Topsy.com

  7. Thank you so much for posting this and introducing me to Kristian Mattson! I had never heard of him before!!

  8. I appreciate that you gathered interesting pieces. It is also interesting how tastes are different among people. While you appreciate The Wild Hunt a lot personally I cannot appreciate it at all.

    • ah that’s a shame- it’s definitely not music for everyone. i hope you can find some other stuff to enjoy on my blog though.
      i really try to steer clear of the most mainstream music, so it’s not for everyone.
      either way, thanks for reading!

  9. Pingback: album review: the tallest man on earth

Leave a Reply

